Australian Dictionary of Biography

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: Use double quotes to search for a phrase

ADB Working Parties

State, Commonwealth, Armed Services and Indigenous Working Parties draw up the lists of individuals selected for inclusion in the ADB and give advice on appropriate authors. The Working Parties consist of scholars and experts in many fields. Few noteworthy figures from Australian history escape their net.


Armed Services Working Party

David Horner (chair)
Peter Burness
John Coates
Mark Lax
John McCarthy
Philip Mulcare
Melanie Oppenheimer
Anthony Staunton
Alan Stephens
David Stevens
Craig Stockings


Commonwealth Working Party

David Lee (chair)
Don Aitkin
Nicholas Brown
David Carment
Patricia Clarke
Bill Gammage
John Nethercote
Graeme Powell
Libby Robin
Peter Stanley
Jill Waterhouse


Indigenous Working Party

Odette Best (chair)
Julie Andrews
Lawrence Bamblett
Len Collard
Linda Ford
Natalie Harkin
Samantha Faulkner
Barry Judd
Stephen Kinnane
Shino Konishi
Jakelin Troy
Maggie Walter
John Whop


New South Wales Working Party

Beverley Kingston (chair)
John Carmody
Andy Carr
Chris Cunneen
Nancy Cushing
Barrie Dyster
Elizabeth Ellis
Stephen Garton
Bridget Griffen-Foley
Murray Goot
John Kennedy McLaughlin
Glenn Mitchell
Andrew Moore
Alan Ventress


Oceania Working Party

Katerina Teaiwa (co-chair)
Patricia O'Brien (co-chair)
Chris Ballard
Stewart Firth
Nicholas Halter
Stephanie Lawson
Vicki Lucker
Kylie Maloney
Jonathan Ritchie
William (Bill) Standish
Deveni Temu


Queensland Working Party

Patrick Buckridge (chair)
Darryl Bennet
Odette Best
Libby Connors
Betty Cosgrove
Manfred Cross
Mark Cryle
Kay Ferres
Geoff Ginn
Ruth Kerr
Dale Kerwin
Belinda McKay
Brian Stevenson
Barbara Webster 


South Australian Working Party

Catherine Kevin (chair)
Margaret Allen
Roger André
Peter Donovan
David Hilliard
Prue McDonald
Bernard O'Neil
Judith Raftery
Paul Sendziuk
Jenny Stock
Bert Stock
Bernard Whimpress


Tasmanian Working Party

Stefan Petrow (chair)
Shirley Eldershaw
Margaret Glover
Elizabeth McLeod
Michael Roe
Barbara Valentine


Victorian Working Party

Carolyn Rasmussen (chair)
John Arnold
Richard Broome
Des Cowley
David Dunstan
Nikki Heningham
Peter Love
Bob Murray
John Waugh
Fay Woodhouse


Western Australian Working Party

Patrick Cornish (chair)
David Black
Geraldine Byrne
Dorothy Erickson
Deborah Gare
Peter Gifford
Sue Graham-Taylor
Jenny Gregory
Lenore Layman
John McIlwraith
Clement Mulcahy
Bobbie Oliver
Bob Reece
Pamela Statham-Drew

Return to About Us