Australian Dictionary of Biography

  • Tip: searches only the name field
  • Tip: Use double quotes to search for a phrase

Cultural Advice

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website contains names, images, and voices of deceased persons.

In addition, some articles contain terms or views that were acceptable within mainstream Australian culture in the period in which they were written, but may no longer be considered appropriate.

These articles do not necessarily reflect the views of The Australian National University.

Older articles are being reviewed with a view to bringing them into line with contemporary values but the original text will remain available for historical context.

The Quest for Indigenous Recognition


  • Michael Anderson – Sheep farmer and Aboriginal land rights activist
  • Bain Attwood – Professor of History, Monash University
  • Senator Andrew Bragg – Liberal Senator for New South Wales
  • Hon Linda Burney – Minister for Indigenous Australians
  • Ann Curthoys AM – Honorary Professor, History, University of Sydney
  • Megan Davis – Pro Vice-Chancellor Indigenous, Professor of Law, University of New South Wales
  • Heather Goodall – Professor Emerita, History, University of Technology Sydney
  • Tom Griffiths AO – Professor Emeritus, History, Australian National University
  • James Holman – Business manager, Baniyala Garrangali Aboriginal Corporation, Northern Territory
  • Steve Kinnane – Associate Professor, Nulungu Research Institute, University of Notre Dame
  • Marilyn Lake AO – Honorary Professor, History, University of Melbourne
  • Andrew Markus AO – Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Arts, Monash University
  • Mark McKenna – Professor Emeritus, History, University of Sydney; Honorary Professor, National Centre for Biography, Australian National University
  • Peter Read – Professor Emeritus, History, Australian National University
  • Henry Reynolds – Honorary Research Professor, Aboriginal Studies Global Cultures & Languages, University of Tasmania
  • Tim Rowse – Professor Emeritus, History, Western Sydney University
  • Dr. Kevin Rudd AC – 26th Prime Minister of Australia
  • Elfie Shiosaki – Associate Professor, Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research, Australian National University
  • Charlie Ward – Writer and historian, Darwin, Northern Territory
  • Samantha Wells – Historian, Northern Territory Library, Darwin
  • George Williams AO – Professor of Law, University of New South Wales
  • Clare Wright OAM – Professor of History, La Trobe University

left arrow 2017 - The Uluru Statement from the Heart
Video - Project Website Launch right arrow